At Adagio Acres, we understand that for those living with celiac disease or gluten intolerance, being able to trust your food is essential for good health. Our Naked Oats are grown in fields that are not used in crop rotations for wheat, barley, triticale, rye, or any related species (spelt, etc.) for at least 3 years, and the majority of our fields have been dedicated gluten free for 10+ years. All of our facilities and milling equipment are dedicated to gluten-free crops. In addition to these rigorous standards, we test our oats for gluten contamination after harvest and again after milling. We test our oats using an ELISA enzyme test which is approved for gluten-free food manufacturers. Our oats consistently test negative for gluten – below the detectable level of 10 ppm.
In the past, there has been a lot of confusion about the labelling of “pure” “uncontaminated” or “wheat-free” oats. This confusion as now be cleared up, with Health Canada’s decision to define “gluten-free oats” as oat products that do not contain more than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten from wheat, rye, or barley.
In contrast, most oats in North America are grown and processed in close proximity to other grains like wheat, barley, and rye, and can often be highly contaminated with gluten from these crops, sometimes at rates as high as 1000 ppm, a level which can cause serious health consequences for those with celiac disease or gluten-intolerance.
Health Canada states that “Oats are a nutritious source of proteins, carbohydrates and especially fibre. Eating foods made with gluten free oats provides a wider choice of grain and cereal-type foods for people with celiac disease. Sticking to a gluten free diet can be a challenge because of limited food choices. Introducing oats to a gluten-free diet could help people better cope with this challenge.
Because the fibre content of oats is often higher than many foods in a gluten-free diet, individuals may experience mild gastrointestinal symptoms for a few days while first introducing oats to their diet. Oat intolerance is quite rare, but does exist in some people with or without celiac disease, so if negative symptoms persist when introducing oats to the diet, individuals should consult their physician.
For more information about the safety of gluten-free oats, see the information and recommendations of the Canadian Celiac Association or Health Canada.